Regional Support Service Model


To download the recommendation brief, please click here .

The NCC Regional Support Service Model Workgroup recommendation brief was submitted to the Health Resources Service Administration (HRSA) on March 31, 2016. Eight models of genetic services were developed and included a regional clinical services model, a consumer education network, regional clinical support centers, quality improvement, a public health model, genetic service data centers, and regional genetic service resource network. In addition to the models, the RSSM Workgroup outlined eight recommendations HRSA could use to bridge gaps to access in genetic services.


Debra Lochner Doyle, MS, LCGC, Washington State Department of Health
Mat Edick, PhD, Michigan Public Health Institute
Celia Kaye, MD, PhD (Chair)
Jan Lowery, PhD, MPH, Colorado School of Public Health
Cynthia Powell, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Chris Prater, MD, Highlandtown Healthy Living Center
Matthew R.G. Taylor, MD, PhD, University of Colorado Health Sciences
Alan Zuckerman, MD, Georgetown University
Regional Representatives on Workgroup
Monica McClain, PhD, MS, NEGC Principal Investigator and Co-Director
Michele Caggana, ScD, FACMG, NYMAC Project Director
Hans Andersson, MD, FACMG, SERC Co-Project Director
Lisa Gorman, PhD, Region 4 Midwest Program Director
Lori Williamson Dean, MS, CGC, LCG, Heartland Project Manager
Kathryn Hassell, MD, MSGRC Project Director
Sylvia Mann, MS, CGC, WSGSC Director

Jill M Abramson, MD, MPH, FAAP, California Department of Health Care Services
Janice Bach, MS, CGC, Region 4 Co-Project Director
Debbie Badawi, MD, Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene
Joann Bodurtha, MD, MPH, FAAP, FACMG, NYMAC Co-Project Director
Luba Djurdjinovic, MS, Ferre Institute
Marcia Ehinger, MD, California Department of Health Care Services
Lisa Feuchtbaum, DrPH, MPH, California Department of Public Health
Pat Furlong, Parent Project Muscular Dystrophy
Susanna Ginsburg, MSW, SG Associates Consulting, LLC
Steve Holve, MD, Indian Health Service
Celia Kaye, MD, PhD (Chair)
Michele Lloyd-Puryear, MD, PhD
Jana Monaco, MS
Kimberly Noble Piper, RN, Bs, CPH, CPHG, Iowa Department of Public Health
Robert Ostrander, MD, Valley View Family Practice
Bradley Schaefer, MD, FAAP, FACMG, Heartland Program Co-Director
Jerry Shorter
Rani Singh, PhD, RD, LD, SERC Co-Project Director
Beth Tarini, MD, MS, University of Michigan
Tracy Trotter, MD, FAAP, Diplomat- American Board of Pediatrics
Susan Waisbren, PhD, Children’s Hospital Boston

David Flannery, MD, FACMG
Alisha S. Keehn, MPA
Debbie Maiese, MPA
Megan Lyon, MPH
Michael Watson, PhD, MS, FACMG